Just Eat Healthy – To Fuel Your Body

Bailey here again –

Many girls at my school worry about every little thing they eat and count every single calorie – even gum. Please. I couldn’t be bothered with all that, and neither could Jazz (my best friend). Yuk. Boring. But I guess Jazz’s mom – Mrs. Creek – didn’t know where we were with it, so she sat us down today.

She told us that we have amazing, beautiful bodies, and that we should always treat them well by giving them good food and exercising. She knows Jazz and I run a few times a week to keep in shape for basketball and track. We also ride our horses all the time, and go river rafting, and skiing in the winter. We’re active and never worry about counting this or that.

We told Mrs. Creek we don’t want to be skinny. Yuk. We want to be strong, so we can kick butt in basketball and track. Who wants to be so skinny that all you can do is sit around all day trying not to eat? Boring.

What we do think about is giving our bodies good fuel so we have plenty of energy to do all the fun things we want to do. That means eating lean proteins, whole grains, milk, fresh fruits and veggies. Don’t get me wrong – we’re normal teenagers and like junk food, too. But we try to keep it to a minimum. Not because we’re worried about getting fat, but because that stuff doesn’t build your body up, it tears it down. We can’t afford to tear down our bodies. There’s way too much fun to be had.

Now I’m no rail, but I’m not heavy either. Will I make the cover of a magazine? Probably not. Do I care? Not. I’m strong and healthy and love all the activities I can do. I don’t have as many curves as I’d like – my chest is on the small side – but I figure you get what you get. Besides, it makes it easier to run without all that extra weight on my chest. Ha ha!

Mrs. Creek said we should always focus on the positives – all the amazing things our bodies can do, as well as what we like about our bodies. She said if we’re so busy being thankful for what we have, we won’t have time to be unhappy about what we don’t.

I thought it was pretty good advice, even though I figure Jazz and I are already there.

But what do you think? Are you one of those calorie counters? Do you eat healthy, or do you struggle with choosing good things to eat? Let me know.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stina Lindenblatt
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 23:56:22

    I don’t count calories, but I do keep fit. But then I can’t survive too long without running. I solve a lot of problems while running and it keeps me sane. 😀

    Reply

  2. tanyaspencer
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 17:17:07

    Yes! Exercise is wonderful. I run, too, and also enjoy cross-training – a bit of weight training, kickboxing, and elliptical, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

