60’s Series Ford Mustangs – My Favorites!

Bailey here –

My favorite car in the whole world is the Ford Mustang. And the older the better. The 1960’s series Mustangs are the coolest, with their beautiful lines and throaty voices. There’s flat out no other car that looks – or sounds – that good. Yes, I’m a girl, but my heart thumps when I see one of these beauties driving down the road.

Ford released the first Mustang at the World’s Fair on April 17, 1964. That first Mustang is lovingly known as the 1964 1/2. What followed was the most successful car launch in history – 22,000 Mustangs sold in the first week, and over a million Mustangs sold in the first two years. As far as I’m concerned, the best-looking Mustangs were made from 1964 through 1969. They come in a coupe, convertible, or a fastback. I can’t make up my mind which I love most.

The first car I ever drove was a gorgeous ’67 coupe with a custom maroon paint job. It had dual black racing stripes that ran down the hood, around and along the doors, and up and over the trunk. Oh, it was something. I wish I had a picture to share, but I don’t. I don’t even know where that car is now, but I hope she has a good home.

I don’t own a Mustang – YET. So I go around taking pictures of them whenever I see them. It’s a sickness, I know, but it’s fun and doesn’t cost anything. The pictures I share with you here were all taken by me. Now tell me they aren’t gorgeous!

The new Mustangs are cool, too, but I want an old one. My dad says I can’t have an old one because they need lots of maintenance. And they didn’t come with air conditioners, power steering, or air bags – some didn’t even have seat belts. What’s a young girl to do? What I’d really like is for Ford to make a new Mustang that is *really retro.* Then I could buy one in a few years.

I mean, Dodge did it with the Challenger. Look at those cool retro lines. Gorgeous. Come on, Ford! Step up to the plate and give us a new *retro* Mustang. They would sell. Oh, yes, they would sell!

Leave a Reply

