The Southern Ute Indians

Bailey here – 

So you know I live in Durango, Colorado, but I bet you didn’t know that the Southern Ute Indians are the oldest continuous residents of Colorado and the Durango area. Long ago, the Southern Utes were hunter/gatherers and exceptional artists.

They made gorgeous pipe bags and horse bags beaded with beautiful sacred symbols. And they shaved amazing pictures into animal hides to decorate personal and ceremonial dwellings. The Southern Ute headquarters is now located in Ignacio, Colorado – about 25 miles from Durango – on the Southern Ute Reservation. 

One of the things I love about the Southern Ute Tribe is that they still hold traditional ceremonies and festivals – like the Bear Dance, the Sun Dance, and the Pow Wow. And I hope they always do. I love watching the Native dancers, and hearing the drums and the singers. I love the old ways, the old language and the traditions. They’re so beautiful. 

The thing I love about different cultures is, well, they’re different. I don’t want everybody to be the same. How boring. For instance, I for one would love it if all Native guys still wore their hair the traditional way – long. Come on, girls love that. So, Native guys, grow your hair! Wear it flowing over your shoulders, back in a band, or in traditional braids – I’m not picky. I just love long, dark hair. 

For me, Durango wouldn’t be the same without the Native influences. Nor would it have its rich and colorful history. Next time I’ll talk about the Southern Ute Bear Dance, Sun Dance and the Pow Wow.

In the mean time, feel free to check out the outstanding Southern Ute website at: http://www.southern-ute.nsn.us/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanmarie Anaya
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 13:09:23

    I’ve never been to Colorado, but you’ve painted a beautiful enough picture of Durango to make me want to visit!

    Reply

  2. tanyaspencer
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 14:03:44

    Jeannie, if you ever get the chance to come to Durango, take it! You won’t regret it. And look me up. I’ll show you around. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

