The Gorgeous Colorado Trail

Bailey here –

One of my favorite trails is the Colorado Trail.  I love to hike it or ride my horse, Dakota, on it.  The trail runs 500 miles from Durango to Denver through some of the most gorgeous country I’ve ever seen.  I haven’t hiked the entire trail – not by a long shot.  But the part around Durango is amazing and changes with the seasons.  Some of these pictures were taken in the Spring and some in November, after the leaves had fallen off the trees and before there was much snow. 

The Colorado Trail meanders through the San Juan Mountains, which are part of the Rocky Mountain Range.  There’s lots of wildlife out there.  I’m always careful when I’m hiking or riding because you never know when you’re going to run into a black bear, a cougar, deer, or elk.  Most people worry about the bears and cougars.  But deer aren’t really like Bambi in the real world.  Those hooves can kill a person in nothing flat.  So, lots of respect for the big animals.  There’s also a ton of smaller animals, too, like rabbits, badgers, marmots, porcupine, squirrels, birds of all kinds, and big horn sheep in the higher elevations.  We even have turkeys.  They run around in big groups. 

A really cool place along the trail is Temple Rock.  It’s a big boulder with a flat surface that sits on the side of the creek.  Hundreds of small rocks sit on top of the boulder in neat little stacks.  These are temples built by hikers who pass by.  The rule is, when you build your temple you’re not allowed to knock down anyone else’s.  I don’t know how it all got started, but it’s pretty cool.  I know couples who build a special temple to celebrate their ‘togetherness.’   Hmmm, I wonder how many have been knocked down after the break ups.  Anyway, Temple Rock isn’t very far from the Durango trailhead parking lot, so it’s easy to get to.  You might want to check it out sometime.

I guess I’ll probably never leave Durango.  I love it too much.  With all the lakes, rivers and creeks, along with the gorgeous mountains and trails that run through them – like the Colorado Trail – where else could I go that would be so inspiring?  I can’t think of any place.  But let me know if you have any ideas.

For more info on the Colorado Trail, check out http://www.coloradotrail.org/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelley Batt
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 18:31:30

    Thanks for sharing the pictures. It sure is beautiful out there. I would love to see it some day. Temple Rock sounds so interesting. Cougars not so much so. I would love to see them but not up close.

    Reply

  2. Alexis
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 17:07:55

    Gorgeous pictures! And Temple Rock still amazes me. I can very much see why it’s an inspiring place to be 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

