My Horse, Dakota

Bailey here –

I love my horse, Dakota.  He’s the best!  Well, I mean, he’s skittish, doesn’t like other people, and spooks easily – but I think he’s perfect.  He’s a brown and white Paint Horse, and he always takes my breath away.  Sometimes I can’t believe he’s actually mine. 

Two years ago, Dad and I went to the Spring Creek Horse Rescue over in Bayfield, and I fell in love with a skinny Paint gelding huddled in the back of his stall.  He had whip marks on his flank and an outgrown halter on his face.  The manager said the gelding kicked and reared – nobody could get near him. 

But then Dakota’s eyes and mine locked, and I knew he was meant to be mine.  Dad was dead set against him and left the barn to look at the other horses.  But I stayed and talked softly to Dakota.  After a long time, he inched his way over and let me pet his nose.  Then I slowly removed the halter from his sore face.  And the rest is history.  Dakota’s now strong and muscular, and he’s my closest friend and confidant.  I never have to worry about anything I tell him.

I’ve heard some people have the gift of ‘animal whispering’ – communicating with animals through telepathic energy.  It’s really a trip if you think about it too long.  I mean, communicating brain to brain, without talking out loud, human to animal and back again?  Of course Jazz thinks it’s all nuts.  But I don’t.  I don’t discount anything.  There are too many mysteries in the world. 

I’m no animal whisperer.  It’s just that Dakota and I connected.  Maybe because I was patient and let him come to me.  I think animals can tell if you’re going to hurt them or not.  Maybe they can even feel your intentions.  I don’t know.  But I do know I don’t like being forced to do things – by my parents or anyone else.  I’d rather think about things for a while and make up my own mind.  And if I end up doing what they wanted me to do in the first place, fine.  But it was my decision.

Don’t you like to make your own decisions?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy Scanlan
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 05:02:04

    What a warm fuzzy story! There is nothing more satisfying than a mistreated animal being rescued into a loving home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

