Gifts and Talents

I spent today with Mrs. Creek (Jazz’s mom).  She’s one of my favorite people in the world.  She’s a tribal holy woman and you can feel the peace and calmness coming off of her.  She wanted to show Jazz and me how to make Native American jewelry, but Jazz wasn’t interested.  She left to go work on the school newspaper, but I stayed and made my first turquoise and black onyx bracelet!  Came out pretty cool. 

While we were beading, Mrs. Creek told me that every person has many gifts (or talents), and that each of us can choose which gifts to develop.  Made me wonder what my talents are.  She told me to think about the things I’m interested in – the things I seem to have a knack for – and that’s where I can find some of my gifts.

Take Jazz for instance.  She’s good at running, sinking a rebound, and she can write.  She’s actually the editor for our school newspaper, and she’s even written a couple articles for the Durango Herald.

As for me, I really loved making the jewelry – thinking of the design and using my hands to create something.  I’m a decent runner, and I can play basketball, but professional athletics aren’t in my future.  But I do want to be a detective/crime profiler.  Hopefully my insane attention to detail and weird love of research will help me make it through the Criminal Justice program at Fort Lewis College.  Oh, and I can just feel things sometimes – like I know certain things are going to happen.  Call it a sixth sense, intuition, or whatever, but I always listen to it because many times what I think is going to happen, does. 

Do you know what your gifts and talents are?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy Scanlan
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 17:01:49

    Me thinks there is some of the author in Bailey Tucker!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

