Good Run

Jazz and I had another good run this morning.  We’ve kept it up all summer, running at least 3 times a week.  We’ll be ready when the Basketball and Track seasons start.  As usual, Jazz outran me.  She does every time.  We did 5 miles today, and she still beat me on the sprint home.  Maddening.

We ran up in the San Juan Mountains and passed a kiva (holy place of the ancient Aztecs).  I told Jazz the place had magic, and that I could feel the ancient peoples watching over us.  She just rolled her eyes.  She doesn’t believe in anything she can’t see.  But I believe mysteries surround us all the time.  Wonderful, mystical things we can’t see, but can feel if we want to.  And her mom’s a tribal holy woman.  I don’t know what’s wrong with Jazz.  She doesn’t believe any of it.  But I do.  What do you believe?

Leave a Reply

