Durango, Colorado – Why I Love It

Bailey here –

I mentioned before that I live in Durango, Colorado – and I love it here.  I believe the Creator granted extra blessings on this beautiful place. 

Durango is located in the southwest corner of Colorado – close to the four corners of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah.  It’s a gorgeous mountain river valley (at about 6500ft) surrounded by pine trees, red rock mesas, lakes and rivers.  It’s close to the Southern Ute Indian Reservation (me likey!).  And it’s lush, green and fun year-round.

The fast-running Animas River – that weaves through town – is perfect for river rafting, which is one of my favorite things to do.  I love the rush of the water, the challenge of keeping the raft upright with just a paddle in my hands, and the thrill of the rapids.  There are also the cute rafting guides – and I mean every single one of them.  Who wouldn’t want to raft with a bunch of athletically-built river guys?

Then there are the trails all through the San Juan Mountains (which are part of the Rocky Mountain Range).  They’re perfect for running and hiking – which Jazz and I love to do to keep ourselves in shape for basketball and track.  We also ride our horses, Dakota and Cheyenne, along the trails and rivers, and let them cut loose in the beautiful meadows.  There’s nothing like feeling the wind whip through your hair while you’re on the back of your galloping horse.  And there’s magic in those mountains, at the holy places of the ancient peoples.  I’ve felt it.  I know.  Of course Jazz thinks it’s all bologna, but that’s just her.

There are so many other things to do in Durango that make it so cool – kayaking, canoeing, backpacking, mountain biking, rock climbing, hunting, fishing and off-roading, to name a few.  The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad – an historic steam-powered train with a haunting whistle – meanders through the mountains to Silverton, Colorado.  We have Fort Lewis College (where I’m going to go), Purgatory – or Durango Mountain Park – where I like to ski (and tried to kill myself boarding), and Mesa Verde National Park where the ancient Pueblo people built their cliff dwellings – way cool.  And last but not least – and where I like to hang out – is our old west-style Main Avenue.

Speaking of Main Ave, I have several totally favorite places there.  I’ll tell you about my beloved Magpies – the best coffee house – next time.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ShelleyB
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:41:09

    Love the pics!! I think this blog was really great. The pics brought us into her world. Where’s the Rock (park, pile, what was that called?)

    Reply

  2. ashley
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 13:07:38

    it really miss you guys sooooo much i miss the beautiful moutains and snow we barey have sown here will try to ccome vist again

    Reply

  3. ashley
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 13:11:30

    i miss colorado sooom much i wish tht ive never moved i miss all the snow and all my friends there and the beautiful mountains and i miss eveeryone and my ex adam herrera

    Reply

  4. tanyaspencer
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 18:09:26

    Ashley, I’m so sorry you miss Colorado. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to leave it. I hope you get to come back someday. Where do you live now?

    Take care,
    Bailey

    Reply

  5. Cindy
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 23:31:16

    Hi Bailey, my daughter is looking for a place to move and start anew. We currently live in WI. I (her mother) have been to CO many times and love it. She is 24 and very athletic and just not sure where she would like to move. What kind of life does Durango have to offer her?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

